A Well-Remembered Lesson from Kasey

She said
I want to show you something.
She took two pieces of red construction paper, a pair of safety scissors, and a glue stick,
and handed me one of the pages.
Make a heart,
she told me.
I traced the familiar shape with my
pencil, happily.
She handed me the scissors after she cut her own heart
from the paper.
Now rip it,
she said,
right down the middle.
We both tore the paper.
Then she said to glue them back.
When they were together,
she instructed to rip them again.
We repeated the process for
a few minutes.
She said– as we destroyed reconstructed paper hearts,
Increasingly harder to get the pieces to tear, and glue sticking paper
to my fingers and my palms–
each time we get hurt,
our hearts scar.
Each time it gets harder to open up,
but the brightside is you stop being
so vunerable.

I wish I could still be vunerable for you,  that I could freely learn to
let my walls crumble away,
thorns subside,
Or having courage to admit that I had let my feelings for you overcome me.
A fall from a dizzying height.
Dropped from the sun,
dizzy on my love,
wax dripping,
too warm to fly.
Lesson learned.

Still, I yearn to let you get that close to me.

Leave a Reply

