Underwhelmed

Let me enter into this new
unforgotten realm of
hope,
where people can be
people
without letting someone
down.

This sadness will flicker,
eventually going out,
but happiness is somewhat
less
for me.

I’m sorry I am not cheery
enough,
that I don’t know the right
words.
I’m too busy making a future
for us
to stop.

I would speak to you
in pictures
if I could, fill your mind
with ideas,
maybe even let you see what
eats at me.

Maybe in this new world
we could
step forward with happiness in mind
first.

 

Leave a Reply

