Letting Go of an Online Friend

I was dying for something deeper,
and one night in my pretend world
you saw me standing nervously,
and we stayed up two nights
in a row.

I was a fledgling and you
promised to teach me to be
better, and that you and I would
find a community together.

You needed freedom,
but my personality is selfish
and I enjoyed when you took the
time to be with only me.

I miss the song suggestions,
the vacant promises, when you
would try to flirt with me, and
I would hold it back.

It happened so suddenly that
I forgot to mark the time,
but I am so used to growing attached
and separating, that it hasn’t bothered me like this….

Once, I had a serious relationship
through screens and keyboards,
and finally lost touch forever, but
it didn’t hurt like this does.

I think I will always be the one
who is more serious about everything,
and you will play around
even though it’s not fulfilling.

4 thoughts on “Letting Go of an Online Friend

  1. “It happened so suddenly that
    I forgot to mark the time,
    but I am so used to growing attached
    and separating, that it hasn’t bothered me like this….

    Once, I had a serious relationship
    through screens and keyboards,
    and finally lost touch forever, but
    it didn’t hurt like this does.”

    This poem speaks to me. Thank you so much for writing this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sorry, I meant to respond, and it has been a crazy week. I struggled to find the words to say this. Thank you so much! I really love that people can relate to anything I say (half of the time, I don’t even know what I mean.)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

