Stalemate

Like pieces on a checkered board
we methodically checked each move,
trying to throw the other person
from assuming our deeper plan.

I was waiting for an answer
some sign the time was right
that I might kill your queen,
and take the king as well.

You were brilliant as my opponent
every move I set was countered,
and sometimes I would question
if you could read my mind.

But as the hours toiled and you
and I made little progress, I saw
your interest drop, and I wouldn’t
budge from my own defenses.

Perhaps we are better when we
have nothing to compete about
or maybe we have simply
run out of squares to visit.

Leave a Reply

