Heal Yet, Flowers

Oh! But I did not see you there,
and I have traipsed across your
petal faces, and how rude of me.
I cannot undo my stepping,
the breaking of your slender
necks, a snapping of my
clumsy step.

You’ve been thirsty under a merciless noon sun, held through
the biting frosts, and yet despite your
tribulations, you have not
succumb to time or weather,
yet I have done a great disservice to
you, parting from the paved trail.

I can help you stand a bit.
Lean your sagging heads against
your sisters’ leafy arms and rest.

Heal yet, flowers.
Be well again.
May my treason be undone.
Bless each one of you,
unopposed and unprotected.

Leave a Reply

